Very Nice Box

$25.00

SKU: 9780358540113 Category:
Author: Gleichman, Eve Blackett, Laura
Publication Date: 07/06/2021
Publisher: Mariner Books
Binding: Hardcover
Media: Book
This item is on backorder and will take an additional 5-7 business days for processing.

Description

“Laura Blackett and Eve Gleichman are linguistic magicians, and their sparkling debut manages to expose the hollowness of well-being jargon while exploring, with tender care and precision, how we dare to move on after unspeakable loss . . . [They have] constructed a mirrored fun house, one that leads us down different paths, each masterfully tied up at the end, yet reflecting and refracting our own quirky selves.”
New York Times Book Review

 

“A very funny debut — and perhaps the most original office satire of the year.”
Washington Post

 

For fans of Elinor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and Severance: an offbeat, wryly funny debut novel that follows an eccentric product engineer who works for a hip furniture company where sweeping corporate change lands her under the purview of a startlingly charismatic boss who seems determined to get close to her at all costs . . .

 

Ava Simon designs storage boxes for STÄDA, a slick Brooklyn-based furniture company. She’s hard-working, obsessive, and heartbroken from a tragedy that killed her girlfriend and upended her life. It’s been years since she’s let anyone in.

 

But when Ava’s new boss–the young and magnetic Mat Putnam–offers Ava a ride home one afternoon, an unlikely relationship blossoms. Ava remembers how rewarding it can be to open up–and, despite her instincts, she becomes enamored. But Mat isn’t who he claims to be, and the romance takes a sharp turn.

 

The Very Nice Box is a funny, suspenseful debut–with a shocking twist. It’s at once a send-up of male entitlement and a big-hearted account of grief, friendship, and trust.