Collected Stories


SKU: 9780374126483
Author: Hazzard, Shirley
Editor: Olubas, Brigitta
Foreword by: Heller, Zoë
Publication Date: 11/03/2020
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Binding: Hardcover
Media: Book
This item is on backorder and will take an additional 5-7 business days for processing.


Collected Stories includes both volumes of the National Book Award-winning author Shirley Hazzard’s short-story collections–Cliffs of Fall and People in Glass Houses–alongside uncollected works and two previously unpublished stories

Shirley Hazzard’s Collected Stories is a work of staggering breadth and accomplishment. Taken together, these twenty-eight short stories are masterworks in telescoping focus, ranging from quotidian struggles between beauty and pragmatism to satirical send-ups of international bureaucracy, from the Italian countryside to suburban Connecticut. Hazzard’s heroes are high-minded romantics who attempt to fit their feelings into the twentieth-century world of office jobs and dreary marriages. After all, as she writes in The Picnic, It was tempting to confine oneself to what one could cope with. And one couldn’t cope with love. And yet it is the comedy, the tragedy, and the splendor of love, the pursuit and the absence of it, that animates Hazzard’s stories and provides the truth and beauty that her protagonists seek.

Hazzard once said, The idea that somebody has expressed something, in a supreme way, that it can be expressed; this is, I think, an enormous feature of literature. Her stories themselves are a supreme evocation of writing at its very best: probing, uncompromising, and deeply felt.