Archives: Events

ROBYN GIGL – Nothing But The Truth

A TRANSGENDER ATTORNEY UNCOVERS CORRUPTION WITHIN THE NJ STATE POLICE DEPARTMENT WHILE PROTECTING HER CLIENT, A GAY POLICE TROOPER FALSELY ACCUSED OF MURDER

Fans of J.A. Jance, Scott Turow, Lisa Unger, and Renee James will devour this propulsive and timely thriller about murder, prejudice, and police corruption, as Erin McCabe, transgender attorney of the Garden State, discovers that getting to the truth can be deadly . . .

New Jersey State Trooper Jon Mazer has been charged with killing Black investigative reporter Stewart Marshall in a racially charged, headline-making murder. The evidence against criminal defense attorney Erin McCabe’s new client is overwhelming. The gun used is Mazer’s off-duty weapon. Fingerprints and carpet fibers link Mazer to the crime. And Mazer was patrolling Marshall’s neighborhood shortly before the victim took three bullets to the chest. Mazer’s argument? He’s a gay officer being set up to take the fall in an even bigger story.

Mazer swears he was a secret source for Marshall’s exposé about the Lords of Discipline. The covert gang operating within the New Jersey State Police is notorious for enforcing their own code of harassing women, framing minorities, and out-powering any troopers who don’t play their rogue and racist games. With everyone from the governor to the county prosecutor on the wrong side of justice, Erin and her partner, Duane Swisher, are prepared to do anything to make sure Mazer doesn’t become another victim.

As Erin deals with an intensely personal issue at home, and faces an uphill battle to prove her client’s innocence, both she and Duane find themselves mired in a conspiracy of corruption deeper than they imagined–and far more dangerous than they feared.

Robyn Gigl is an award-winning author, attorney, and activist. The recipient of the Publishing Triangle’s prestigious Joseph Hansen Award, her Erin McCabe legal thrillers have landed on Best of the Year lists at The New York Times, The Los Angeles Times, CrimeReads, LAMBDA Literary, and more. Survivor’s Guilt was named a TIME Magazine Best Thrillers and Mysteries of All Time. An attorney whose legal career spans more than 40 years, she was appointed by the New Jersey Supreme Court to the Court’s Committee on Diversity Inclusion and Community Engagement and has been named one of the Top 50 Women Lawyers in New Jersey. She has been honored by the ACLU-NJ and the NJ Pride Network for her work on behalf of the LGBTQ+ community and is a member of the Board of Directors of Garden State Equality, New Jersey’s largest LGBTQ+ Civil Rights Organization. She is a partner at the law firm of Dilworth Paxson, LLP in Freehold, NJ.

Order your copy from the link below!

Philadelphia Bookstore Crawl

Come Explore Bookstores Around the City

The Philadelphia Bookstore Crawl is a yearly celebration of Philadelphia’s wildly vibrant and wonderful bookstore scene, at the end of every August.

Our second Philadelphia Bookstore Crawl will take place on Saturday, August 24th.

The concept is simple. On the date of the crawl, at the end of the summer, participating bookstores around town are hosting unique and special events. Discounted books? Exciting giveaways? In-store author signings? You’ll see!

There’s no specific trail to follow. No route. Just a bundle of bookshops around town, all doing something special on one given day.

This is a list of all the bookshops participating in the crawl this year, on Saturday, August 24th.

A NOVEL IDEA

1726 E PASSYUNK AVE, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19148

AMERICAN GRAMMAR

PUBLISHING INDUSTRY AMA WITH AGENTS + EDITORS AT 10AM!

2046 N FRONT ST, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19122

BIG BLUE MARBLE

551 CARPENTER LN, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19119

BINDLESTIFF

4530 BALTIMORE AVE, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19143

BOOKED

8511 GERMANTOWN AVE, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19118

BRAVE NEW WORLDS

55 N 2ND ST, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19106

CAPRICORN BOOKS

605 WEST AVE, JENKINTOWN, PA 19046

CHILDREN’S BOOK WORLD *

17 HAVERFORD STATION RD, HAVERFORD, PA 19041

DU BOIS-ROBESON PEOPLE’S CENTER

4515 BALTIMORE AVE, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19143

PAT AT GIOVANNI’S ROOM

345 S 12TH ST, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19107

HARRIETT’S BOOKSHOP

258 E GIRARD AVE, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19125

HEALING WHILE BLACK *

4111 LANCASTER AVENUE. PHILADELPHIA, PA. 19104

H&H BOOKS *

2230 FRANKFORD AVE, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19125

HEADHOUSE BOOKS *

619 S 2ND ST, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19147

HILLTOP BOOKS

84 BETHLEHEM PIKE, PHILA. 19118

IFFY BOOKS

404 S. 20TH ST. PHILADELPHIA, PA 19146

INKWOOD BOOKS

106 KINGS HWY E, HADDONFIELD, NJ 08033

THE LAST WORD BOOKSHOP

220 S 40TH ST, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19104

MAIN POINT BOOKS *

116 N WAYNE AVE, WAYNE, PA 19087

MAKING WORLDS COOPERATIVE BOOKSTORE & SOCIAL CENTER

210 S 45TH ST, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19104

MAVEY BOOKS

8 CRICKET AVE, ARDMORE, PENNSYLVANIA 19003

MISCELLANEA LIBRI

454 E GIRARD AVE, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19125

MOLLY’S BOOKS & RECORDS

1010 S 9TH ST, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19147

MOSTLY BOOKS

529 BAINBRIDGE ST, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19147

MULTIVERSE

8026 GERMANTOWN AVE, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19118

NARBERTH BOOKSHOP

221 HAVERFORD AVE, NARBERTH, PA 19072

NEIGHBORHOOD BOOKS

1906 SOUTH ST, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19146

OPEN BOOK BOOKSTORE

7900 HIGH SCHOOL RD, ELKINS PARK, PA 19027

PARTNERS & SON

618 S 6TH ST, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19147

UMOJA HOUSE

6338 GERMANTOWN AVE, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19144

UNCLE BOBBIES

5445 GERMANTOWN AVE, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19144

WOODEN SHOE BOOKS

704 SOUTH ST, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19147

Philly Queer Book Club

This month’s Philly Queer Book Club selection is The Talented Mr. Ripley by Patricia Highsmith

Queerapalooza!


Join us Saturday, June 8th to celebrate our legacy as the oldest & very best LGBTQIA+ bookstore in the country.

The event will be filled with fabulous Queer art/craft/vintage Vendors selling their wares and food/drinks from Mixto and more!
We will take to the streets at 12th and Pine. Dancing in the streets is strongly encouraged.

Wrong Is Not My Name (Notes on (Black) Art)

A dazzling hybrid of personal memoir and criticism, considering the work of Black visual artists as a means to explore loss, legacy, and the reclamation of life through art.

At the age of twenty-one, Erica Cardwell finds herself in New York City, reeling from the loss of her mother and numb to the world around her. She turns inward instead, reading books and composing poetry, eventually falling into the work of artists such as Blondell Cummings, Lorna Simpson, Lorraine O’Grady, and Kara Walker. Through them, she communes with her mother’s spirit and legacy, and finds new ways to interrogate her writing and identity. Wrong Is Not My Name weaves together autobiography, criticism, and theory, and considers how Black women create alternative, queer, and “hysterical” lives through visual culture and performance. In poetic, interdisciplinary essays–combining analytical and lyrical stream-of-consciousness–Cardwell examines archetypes such as the lascivious Jezebel, the caretaking Mammy, and the elusive Sapphire to formulate new and inventive ways to write about art.Pioneering and inquisitive, Wrong Is Not My Name celebrates Black womanhood, and illuminates the ways in which art and storytelling reside at the core of being human.